• Masthead
  • Awards-title

    Teacher Awards 

    (return to contents) 

    See also:

    CEOM and General Awards
    School Awards
    Student Awards 

    ResourceSmart Awards

    Julie Wynne from St Louis de Montfort’s School, won the ResourceSmart Schools award for Primary Teacher of the Year. Julie has been a driving force behind the school’s 10-year whole-school sustainability plan. She has overseen the development of the kitchen garden program and has built strong community partnerships. She has driven the fundraising of $300,000, which has funded the water sustainability program, vegetable, bush tucker and habitat gardens, an orchard, worm farms, an animal husbandry area, outdoor learning spaces and composting bays.

    Outstanding Presentation Award at ACER Conference


    Three Sacré Cœur teachers (L–R), Marj Abbey, Caroline Brown and Georgia Papadopoulos, were awarded an Outstanding Presentation Award at the conclusion of the Excellence in Professional Practice Conference (EPPC) of the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER). The teachers presented a session on Purposeful Teaching of Mathematics (PToM). Their session explored the process and important factors that brought about a change in teaching practice after participating in the PToM program, conducted by the Catholic Education Office Melbourne, in conjunction with the University of Melbourne. The award was based on the abstract of the PToM session submitted to the ACER and the teachers’ presentation at the EPPC.

    John Laing Professional Development Award

    Steve Bellesini, Principal at Resurrection School, Keysborough, received a 2014 John Laing Professional Development Award from the Principals Australia Institute (PAI) for his outstanding contributions to the professional learning of his colleagues. The awards are a peer-nominated celebration of school leadership and professional learning. Steve was nominated by the Victorian Association of Catholic Primary School Principals (VACPSP).

    (return to top) 

    School Library Association of Victoria Award

    Marco Di Cesare, Principal at Caroline Chisholm Catholic College in Braybrook, received the School Leader’s Award from the School Library Association of Victoria (SLAV). Marco received his award for his commitment to the value and power of knowledge and the important role of the library in the college community. He has made the revival of the library service at the college a priority.

    Leah Irving-teacherawards 

    VCAL Awards

    Leah Irving of St Joseph’s College, Geelong, received the VCAL Teacher Achievement Award – Integrated Program. In 2013 Leah and the Senior VCAL students were involved in a program integrating Personal Development Skills, Work Related Skills and Numeracy and Literacy Skills. In association with the Cancer Council of Victoria, the students managed a major fundraising campaign for the fight against women’s cancers. The campaign raised over $14,000. In recognition of their outstanding work, the Cancer Council produced a video of their initiative, reported on their efforts in the national newsletter and bestowed two research awards on the college.

    Catholic School Teacher to Join ANZAC Day Gallipoli Tour

    Joining the 12 secondary students in the Archdiocese of Melbourne who were selected to participate in the 2015 Anzac Day Gallipoli tour is Brett Lefebvre of Sacred Heart College, Kyneton, who was selected as one of the 14 teacher chaperones to accompany the 80 Victorian students from Years 9–12. The participants in the tour will spend five days in Turkey representing Victoria, including at the historic Anzac Day service at Gallipoli. The tour is part of the commemorations to mark 100 years since the start of World War I. 

    (return to top)