• Publications 2012 Annual Report
  • Teacher Awards

    Secondary Teacher of the Year 

    The Australian Secondary Teacher of the Year Award was presented to Daniel Buttacavoli, head of English at Emmanuel College, Altona North. Mr Buttacavoli won a four-week sabbatical in the professional learning area of his choice, valued at up to $25,000. Kathy Green from St Francis Xavier Primary School, Montmorency, was nominated for Australian Primary Teacher of the Year. The 2012 Australian Awards for Outstanding Teaching and School Leadership were organised by the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL) on behalf of the Australian Government.  


     Daniel Buttacavoli 

    2012 Eureka Prize nominee 

    Dr Eroia Barone-Nugent, a teacher at Santa Maria College, Northcote, was one of three finalists for the 2012 Eureka Prize for Science or Mathematics Teaching. The nomination was in recognition of her work with the Science Growing Tall Poppies Program (GTP) in schools. The program is a collaboration between schools, systems, and universities to raise the profile and quality of teaching of physical sciences for girls.


        Paul Carter  

    Australian Vogel Literary Award 

    The Australian Vogel Literary Award, one of the country’s most prestigious awards for unpublished manuscripts, went to Paul Carter, an English teacher at Caroline Chisholm Catholic College, Braybrook. He received the prize for his unpublished work, Eleven Seasons. The book is about a young boy’s desire to play Australian Rules football at an elite level while dealing with family issues at home.

     Design and Technology win 

    Katrina Wheaton-Penniall, Arts/Technology Coordinator at Caroline Chisholm Catholic College in Braybrook, was awarded the Design and Technology Teachers Association of Victoria (DATTA Vic) Secondary Educator of the Year Award. She has used competitions to encourage students to strive for excellence, and as a result, the college has won awards over several years at the Royal Melbourne Show and the Victorian Government Cultural Diversity Quest.

    National Excellence in Teaching Awards 

    Rod Sheehan of MacKillop Catholic Regional College in Werribee, was awarded a NEiTA 2012 ASG Inspirational Teaching State and Territory Award. He was nominated for the award by a parent from the MacKillop College community. A total of 60 teachers, principals and directors were selected from 1,372 nominations across Australia. The winners received an award and a certificate.




    Rod Sheenhan 
    Rod Sheehan with the Minister for Education, the Hon. Martin Dixon MP 

    Language teacher fellowships awarded 

    Six Catholic school teachers from the Archdiocese of Melbourne have been awarded national Endeavour Language Teacher Fellowships for 2013. The fellowships involve a three-week, intensive in-country study program to assist practising language teachers to improve their knowledge, skills and understanding of the languages and cultures they teach. The programs take place in January 2013 and the participants take part in language training and cultural activities, visit attractions, meet local people and experience language immersion in everyday life. The program provides return airfares, accommodation, tuition, some meals, field trips and cultural activities.

    The recipients of the award were:

    • Indonesian – Angela Patterson, Avila College, Mount Waverley
    • Italian – Anna Gastaldello, Marcellin College, Bulleen
    • Italian – Maria Mezzatesta and Judith Bon, St Monica’s College, Epping
    • Italian – Rachel Velluto, Caroline Chisholm Catholic College, Braybrook
    • Japanese – Jennifer Ma, Simonds Catholic College, West Melbourne.