• Publications 2012 Annual Report
  • Student Awards

    Premier’s VCE winners 

    Three Catholic school students received Premier’s VCE Top All-Round High Achiever Awards. The 2012 recipients were James Toohey from St Kevin’s College, Toorak; James Worsnop, Xavier College, Kew; and Maria Paris, Sacred Heart Girls’ College, Oakleigh. Fifty-five Catholic school students in the Archdiocese of Melbourne received Premier’s VCE Awards in a variety of subjects.

    VCE Leadership Awards 

    Kim Baker of Sacred Heart College, Kyneton, was one of 12 Victorian students to receive a VCE Leadership Award, which was formerly known as the VCE Achiever Awards. Kim, a Youth Ambassador for the Red Cross and a college captain, organised three blood drives at the college.

    Kim Baker with Minister for Education, the Hon. Martin Dixon MP

    Simpson's Prize 

    A Year 10 student at St Kevin’s College, Toorak, who attended this year’s ANZAC Day dawn service in Turkey said it was the most rewarding and emotional experience of his life. Samuel O’Connor was the sole Victorian recipient of the Australian Government’s Simpson Prize for his excellent essay on the Australian commemoration of ANZAC Day. He joined other state and territory winners on a trip to Gallipoli for the dawn service.

    Spirit of ANZAC Prize 

    Jayden Mifsud’s personal hardship and suffering from losing his family home, possessions and pets in the Black Saturday bushfires formed the basis of his winning essay in the 2012 Victorian Spirit of ANZAC Prize. Jayden from Assumption College, Kilmore, was one of 10 students who travelled to significant military sites at Gallipoli, Malaysia and Singapore in April.


    Samuel O'Connor

    Father Wall Bursary Awards 

    Four Year 10 Catholic school students have been rewarded for outstanding leadership and community involvement with Father Wall Bursary Achievement Leadership Awards. They were: Jack Hayes, St Joseph’s College, Newtown; Renee Demeo, Sacred Heart College, Newtown; Jessica Suares, Sacré Cœur, Glen Iris; and Emmie Guy from Mount Lilydale Mercy College, Lilydale. The awards are presented to four Year 10 students annually who make a solid contribution in a range of areas, including the arts, science, public speaking, sporting activities, community service and social justice.


    Fr Wall
    Fr Wall recipients with Executive Director, Stephen Elder, Archbishop Denis Hart and General Manager of the Catholic Development Fund, John Hurren

    Future Leaders 

    Catholic school students figured prominently in the 2012 Future Leaders Awards. Categories included the Environment, Justice, Photography and Role Model. Johanna Mousley and Sofia Viegas from Sacred Heart College, Newtown, were presented with Role Model awards, each receiving $500.


    Pierre de Coubertin Award 

    Alexandra Piaia from the Academy of Mary Immaculate, Fitzroy, received the Pierre de Coubertin Award for Most Outstanding Artistic piece. She produced a painting on the award’s theme: ‘How can the values of the London 2012 Olympic Games go beyond sport and competition?’ The Pierre de Coubertin Awards, named after the founder of the modern Olympic Games, recognise students who demonstrate academic excellence and sporting prowess while exemplifying the Olympic values.

     VCAL Achievement Awards 

    Caitlin Wood, Catholic Ladies’ College Ltd, Eltham, received a VCAL School-based Apprentice/Trainee Award for completing her Senior VCAL while a hairdressing apprentice at Hair by Ciccone.


    Alexandra Piaia 

    Scientist for a Day 

    Three Catholic school students were rewarded for their submissions in the Cassini Scientist for a Day essay competition. Cecilia Rafanan, a Year 8 Caroline Chisholm Catholic College, Braybrook, student won the Year 7/8 category with her essay about Hyperion, one of Saturn’s moons. Annalise Donohue from Genazzano FCJ College, Kew, triumphed in the Year 5/6 category and Alicia Chen, also from Genazzano, was the Year 9/10 winner. Cassini Scientist for a Day gives students around the world an opportunity to learn about the Cassini mission to Saturn.


    Scientist for a day
    Cecilia Rafanan  

    ACU Pixel Prize 

    Five students at Melbourne Catholic colleges are Victorian winners or highly commended finalists in the various categories of the Pixel Prize, a national competition of the Australian Catholic University: Stephanie Nguyen, Year 10, Killester College, Springvale, was successful in the category, Best Representation of Culture; Bella Sullivan-Barry, Year 11, Academy of Mary Immaculate, Fitzroy, won for Best Image Composition; and in the same category, Virginia Hidgkinson, Year 12, Loreto Mandeville Hall, Toorak, was Highly Commended; Ashleigh Hill, Year 10, Our Lady of Sion College, Box Hill, was Highly commended in the Most Original Photograph Award. The winner of Best Suite of Multiple Images Award was Camille Mance, Year 11, Loreto Mandeville Hall. Winners received $300 and a certificate and Highly Commended finalists received a $50 voucher and a certificate.


    Bella Sullivan-Barry  

    Yvonne Perret Scholarship 

    Recently Nicole Lee, a Year 7 student at Avila College, Mount Waverley, was awarded the Yvonne Perret Scholarship from the Victorian Association of Gifted and Talented Children (VAGTC) in recognition of her love of learning and display of giftedness, especially in her musical and mathematical endeavours.

    VAGTC Life Member, educator and author, Dr Yvonne Perret, created the scholarships to help further enrich the educational opportunities for students who have demonstrated a gift, passion or skill in their chosen area of endeavour, and show potential for this activity’s future development. This inaugural scholarship was awarded to only one metropolitan student and one country student. The country scholarship was also won by a student at a Catholic secondary school.


    Nicole Lee

    Australian Student Prize 

    The Australian Student Prize gives national recognition to academic excellence and achievement in secondary education, particularly those in senior secondary years. The 2011 prize was awarded to 120 students from Victoria and 500 students nation-wide. Each winner receives a certificate for excellence in secondary education and an award of $2,000. Students who received the federal government’s Australian Student Prize for academic excellence in the 2011 school year were:

    • Xavier College, Kew – Edward Doolan, Michael Woodburn & James Worsnop
    • Sacred Heart College, Newtown – Phoebe Alexander & Sophia Griffiths-Mark
    • Aquinas College, Ringwood – Nicholas Tarrant
    • Avila College, Mount Waverley – Fiona Canny
    • Mount Lilydale Mercy College, Lilydale – Vanessa Ciccotelli
    • Our Lady of Mercy College, Heidelberg – Claire Molony
    • St Kevin’s College, Toorak – James Toohey
    • Sacré Cœur, Glen Iris – Stephanie Lightfoot
    • Whitefriars College Inc., Donvale – John Tonti-Filippini