Anzac award for Catholic student

A student from Star of the Sea College in Gardenvale, Lauren McAlary, is the 2011 Victorian winner of the Simpson Prize.

Awarded to one Year 9 or 10 student in every state, the prestigious award is conducted by the History Teachers' Association of Australia (HTAA) on behalf of the Australian Government. More than 600 entries were received this year.

  PESA award 

The focus of the competition is the ANZAC tradition, with participating students asked to write an essay of up to 1200 words, or prepare an audio-visual presentation of not more than 15 minutes on a given statement. This year’s topic was ‘Has the ANZAC legend changed over 95 years?’

Lauren is one of eight students who will attend the Gallipoli dawn service on 25 April.

Meanwhile, Aisling Cahir from Ave Marie College, Aberfeldie will join 10 other students on a study tour in April to Gallipoli and the Western Front after winning the Premier’s Spirit of ANZAC Prize.

Students were presented with their awards by the Premier Ted Baillieu at the Shrine of Remembrance in March.